Vertebral Column

The vertebral column usually consists of 24 articulating vertebrae, and 9 fused vertebrae in the sacrum and the coccyx.  It is situated in the dorsal aspect of the torso, separated by intervertebral discs.  It houses and protects the spinal cord in its spinal canal.
mouseover for arrows image from Anatomie de l’homme, ou, description et figures lithographiées de toutes les parties du corps humain / par Jules Cloquet, 1821-1831

link to vertebral column tutorial here


Other similar posts
This entry was posted in Bones and tagged , , , , , , , , .